top of page

Playable Sub-Class: Shadow Cleric

"Cloaked Priest 2" by Bob Greyvenstein

Shadow Clerics worship the dark recesses of the shadow planes, often dressing in dark clothing and armor and preferring to wield blades rather than blunt weapons. Their abilities place them somewhere in the same group as those clerics in the domains of trickery, death, or the grave but most Shadow Clerics worship the Raven Queen.

Quick Aside

Want a free adventure you can play tonight with 30 minutes of prep? Have one on us!



The Raven Queen makes her home in the Shadowlands, also known as the Plane of Shadow, which exists as a sort of counterpoint to the Feywild. The Shadowlands are full of decay and death, but also immense darkness. The Raven Queen is the patron of all those who reside in shadow for her very form is but a string of memories, her physical body long ago being obliterated in a coup by some of her wizard followers trying to siphon her power during a ritual to achieve divinity. Clerics of The Raven Queen seek mementos, trinkets, and other offerings that have had association with loss and tragedy.


Cleric Level Spells

1st silent image, unseen servant

3rd darkness, invisibility

5th blink, vampiric touch

7th dimension door, greater invisibility

9th contact other plane, wall of force


When you choose this domain at 1st level, you gain proficiency with martial weapons and heavy armor.


Your connection to the Shadowlands grants you Darkvision, 120'


Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to wrap yourself in tendrils of the Shadowlands and drop into your own shadow. For one minute, the tendrils will stay wrapped around you and by dropping into your own shadow, you can then emerge from any other shadow within 30'.


Starting at 6th level, you can use your Channel Divinity to create a sphere of magical darkness which extends out to 40'. This acts just like the darkness spell in most respects but the exception being that you personally can see inside its area of effect it for its duration of 1 minute. The darkness emanates from you and moves with you. The darkness is not a traditional darkness spell, but a tear in the dimension wall into the corners of the Shadowlands. If any enemies are within 5' of you as you use this ability, they must make a DC 15 Intelligence saving throw. On a failure, they have seen the face of the Raven Queen and take 6D6 Psychic Damage and become insane until they finish a long rest. Creatures who are insane can't take actions, can't understand what other creatures say, can't read, and speak only in gibberish. A greater restoration spell on them ends this effect.


At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your weapon strikes with the dark energy of the Shadowlands - a gift from the Raven Queen. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d8 necrotic damage to the target. When you reach 14th level, the extra damage increase to 2d8.


At 17th level, you have become a true conduit of energies from the Shadowlands, and as a result you gain resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage from nonmagical weapons as your material form is now partly shadow.

We hope you think the Shadow Domain subclass is a worthy addition to your game night. As always, feel free to tweak and adjust the information here to suit your own purposes. Let us know what you think in the comments! - Joe

Recent Posts

See All


  • discord-icon
  • TikTok
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page